Video Clip of The Week: Wand, “Sleepy Dog”



I’m always endlessly delighted when I can find an animated clip for the week’s featured video, because it reminds me fondly of watching my favorite cartoons on weekend mornings as a child (though I admit that this mostly took place on Saturdays). Nostalgia! This week’s video, “Sleepy Dog” is the masterstroke of a band called Wand. Directed by Meghan Tryon and Garrett Davis, the visual odyssey of this adorable little black dog comes on like a reined-in version of a monochromatic R. Crumb-induced hallucination. And since we already know that the dog is sleepy, it is pleasing to imagine that his many otherworldly adventures — which include a visit to an art museum — are, in fact, just a fever dream of sorts. There are also enough creepy, nightmare moments to make this choice appropriate for Halloween, which is just a few days off at this point. Nice.

Wand Sleepy Dog Still

Aurally, “Sleepy Dog” pays homage to the very best of ’60s garage rock psychedelia. Nothing more need be said. “Sleepy Dog” comes to us from Wand’s latest album, 1000 Days, which was released on September 25th, 2015 Dragcity Records.

Check out Wand’s North American Tour Dates after the jump. Enjoy!

WAND TOUR DATES:

Weds 10/28/15 at The Echo in Los Angeles, CA
Thu 10/29/15 at Brick & Mortar Music Hall in San Francisco, CA
Fri 10/30/15 at The Know PDX in Portland, OR
Sat 10/31/15 at Commodore Ballroom in Vancouver, British Columbia
Sun 11/1/15 at Narwhal in Seattle, WA
Tues 11/3/15 at The Real Lounge in Missoula, MT
Thu 11/5/15 at The Entry in Minneapolis, MN
Fri 11/6/15 at Witching Hour Festival in Iowa City, IA
Sat 11/7/15 at Empty Bottle in Chicago, IL
Tues 11/10/15 at Adelaide Hall in Toronto, Ontario
Wed 11/11/15 at Bar Le “Ritz” P.D.B. in Montreal, Quebec
Thu 11/12/15 at Middle East (upstairs) in Cambridge, MA
Fri 11/13/15 at Mercury Lounge in New York, NY
Sat 11/14/15 at Rough Trade NYC in Brooklyn, NY
Sun 11/15/15 at Black Cat in Washington, DC
Mon 11/16/15 at Tiger Mountain in Asheville, NC
Wed 11/18/15 at 529 in Atlanta, GA
Thu 11/19/15 at Hi Tone in Memphis, TN
Fri 11/20/15 at Siberia in New Orleans, LA
Sat 11/21/15 at Red 7 in Austin, TX
Sun 11/22/15 at Lowbrow Palace in El Paso, TX
Tue 11/24/15 at Solar Culture in Tucson, AZ
Wed 11/25/15 at Soda Bar in San Diego, CA

Advertisements

One thought on “Video Clip of The Week: Wand, “Sleepy Dog”

  1. Pingback: Video Clip of The Week: Cory Hanson, “Garden of Delight” | The Worley Gig

Please Leave a Comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s