Tag Archives: thirty tigers

Video Clip of The Week: Liz Cooper & The Stampede, “Hey Man”

Were you by any chance one of those youngsters who loved to play records up in your bedroom, dancing and rocking out in front of the mirror while singing passionately into your hair brush? If that scenario sounds familiar, I’ve got an amazing clip for you on this nostalgia-filled Sunday morning. Please allow me to introduce you to Liz Cooper & The Stampede, the retro bliss that is their tune “Hey Man,” and its sublime accompanying video.

As the clip kicks off, a suburban mom welcomes her friends to a home Make Up Party. Meanwhile, up in her bedroom, her sassy young daughter (played impeccably by 11-year old Madysen Reilly, who totally owns the role) pops a tape of “Hey Man” into her cassette player, lip syncing to Liz’s come-hither croon, and living out her rock and roll fantasy as if there was no tomorrow. It isn’t long before mom and her friends are so distracted by the rockin’ tunes coming from upstair that they get carried away and release their inhibitions . . . maybe a bit too much.

Aurally, “Hey Man” sounds like it was lifted off one those Nuggets collections of ’60s psychedelic garage rock. Does it get any better than that? I do not think it does. Directed by Anna Zorn, of Chicago’s Second City, “Hey Man” is the second single and video from Liz Cooper & The Stampede’s much-anticipated debut full-length album, Window Flowers, schedule to land on August 10th, 2018 on the band’s own label, Sleepyhead Records (Thirty Tigers). Enjoy!

Liz Cooper and the Stampede

Video Clip of The Week: Steelism, “Eno Nothing”

It’s always an extra-special treat when I can find an animated clip for the weekly Sunday Jam, because it brings the whole concept that much closer to a ‘Weekend Morning Cartoon’ vibe, which I secretly live for. You’re Welcome.

Today we have an instrumental clip with the enigmatic title “Eno Nothing,” from Nashville’s Steelism — a group comprised of core-members Jeremy Fetzer (guitar) and Spencer Cullum (pedal steel player). “Eno Nothing” kicks off with our fearless duo leaving the house, embarking on an existential journey, and getting beamed aboard a drone-like craft. After stopping at an inter-galactic gas station to fuel-up, they visit many, many strange planets where they encounter such creatures as a gigantic purple tortoise, a Cthulhu and one of the benevolent aliens from Star Trek (I think). Later, they drop in on avant-garde composer and bonafide music legend Brian Eno, before ending up back where they started. Musically, “Eno Nothing” is The Toadies meets Steely Dan. Trust me on this one. It’s like Flight of The Conchords are writing the soundtrack to an imaginary sci-fi/fantasy flick!

“Eno Nothing” can be found on Steelism’s sophomore album, Ism, released in June via the band’s own imprint, Intoxicating Sounds (distributed by Thirty Tigers). Ism marks the first time the band brings featured vocalists into their instrumental canon, with guest appearances from Tristen, Ruby Amanfu, Andrew Combs and Jessie Baylin. Enjoy!

Steelism Album Cover