Facebook in 2022: Tips and Tricks for Using the Platform

facebook tips and tricks banner
Image Source

In 2022, Facebook will have been around for fifteen years. That’s a long time for any technology company to stay on top of its game, and Facebook shows no signs of slowing down. Users continue to flock to the platform in droves, and businesses of all sizes are using it as a powerful tool to reach their customers. In this article, we’ll go over some tips and tricks for using Facebook effectively in 2022. Whether you’re a business owner or a consumer, there’s something here for everyone!  

Useful Terms to Know

If you are completely new to Facebook then you might need to learn a few phrases before continuing. Much like any social media platform, there are going to be a lot of new words to learn, so here are some of the most important to know:

  • Timeline: The first thing you should know is a timeline, and that is your newsfeed, a collection of all your posts as well as posts that you have been tagged in. Anyone can see your timeline unless your profile is set to private.
  • Newsfeed: The next word you should know is the newsfeed, which is where you will see all the posts from anyone that you follow, as well as occasional advertisements for businesses.
  • Post: If you have used social media at all, you should be very  familiar with this term; it’s your content that gets displayed on the newsfeed of your followers.
  • Pages: The last term you should be aware of is Pages, and they can be thought of as the profiles of businesses or brands.

Now you should be aware of the basic important terms, so when you read something like “organize your timeline,” you will know what it means.

Add Friends to See Photos

Another thing that you might not be aware of if you are inexperienced with Facebook is that, if users have set their profile to private, you need to add them as a friend in order to see their photos. If they haven’t set their profile to private, then you can view anyone’s photos or videos, as well as posts they have been tagged in.

Of course, this isn’t the only way to see the photos and videos of someone who is not yet your friend, or has set their profile to private. Here are a variety of different methods that you can use to view private FB photos, and all of them are quite simple.

Don’t Give Away Personal Info

The next thing that you should be aware of when using Facebook, especially if it is your first time, is that you should try to avoid giving away personal information. There is one section of Facebook that many people feel they are compelled to complete, which is the ‘About’ section.

This section asks you to fill in some personal information, but you are under no obligation to do so. Keep in mind that you never know who is behind the profile of anyone on Facebook, and as such, you should try to limit the amount of personal information that you make public.

Edit Your Privacy Settings

The next thing that you should do when using Facebook, whether you are new to the platform or not, is to edit your privacy settings. While the objective of Facebook is to connect with friends, family, and people around the world, this doesn’t necessarily need to mean that your profile should be on full display for everyone to see.

The great thing about Facebook is that there are many different settings that you can change to fine-tune who sees what content. For example, maybe you don’t want anyone seeing your timeline, but you don’t mind people seeing posts you’re tagged in; there’s a setting for that.

Control Your News Feed

Finally, something that you should do if you are using Facebook and plan to use Facebook for the foreseeable future is to determine what you see on your newsfeed. A while ago, Facebook made some changes to your newsfeed that allowed businesses to take priority, rather than friends and family.

This change has since been undone, for the most part, however, there are still a few things that you can do to control what you see. If there is a post from someone or maybe from a business that you would not like to see, all you need to do is click on the three dots at the top right of the post and then select one of the three options available; unfollow the person, hide posts like this, snooze the account for 30 days.

Leave a Reply